‘Everything, Everything’ by Nicola Yoon / A Book Review

Hello blogging family!

Can I just say WOW!? I found out recently that this blog has surpassed 2,000 views and we now have 200 wanderers! I just want to say thank you so much for taking the time to visit, read and enjoy my blog enough to want to follow it! Blogging and putting myself out there has never been easy but getting to write and start a conversation with all of you has brought me so much joy and inspiration! So thank you for stopping by post after post ❤ This blogging community rocks!

For today’s post, I wanted to do a review on the YA novel that’s been blowing up lately, ‘Everything, Everything’ by Nicola Yoon. I picked it two days ago and if it hadn’t been for a busy work schedule, I probably would have read it all in one sitting! However, two days isn’t too bad right?

61blZ2UjXML

I originally planned to go see the movie adaptation next week which is why I picked up the book – because I always need to read the book first  :p – as well as because everyone seemed to be talking about this novel. Much like when I grabbed The Fault in Our Stars, I was very curious about what all the hype was about! So, with that said, lets get into the review!

First, here’s a quick summary of Everything, Everything from Goodreads:

“My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.” 

First Impressions

everything-everything-poster

I first heard about this book while watching Before I Fall and seeing the trailer for the movie that recently came out. I didn’t realize at the time how hyped people were about it but I was really excited about it plot wise. If you’re a Lurlene Mcdaniel fan, then maybe you felt the same way! I spent my high school years reading a ton of her books and though they were all basically YA, her stories were always about sick teens, romance and overcoming or finding peace with their diagnosis. I personally really loved her style of writing and when I saw the trailer for Everything, Everything, I knew I wanted to read it to see if it would be like any of those books I’d read in the past. Also…random but I adore the cover!! I love how colorful it is against the white background and how the title eludes to Maddy’s journey on finding more herself. It really is a stunning cover that always makes me smile :p

Plot

tumblr_oq2bemEDYQ1sraveeo1_500.gif

I thought the plot was original because I’d seen/read very few stories about characters who have the illness that Maddy does, which consists of not being able to leave her home without risk of becoming sick. When Maddy sees Olly and his family move into the house next door, I was really curious at how these two would meet and fall in love if being in the same room was a danger to her health. But as the two slowly developed a relationship through making googly eyes in their windows and emailing/texting back and forth. When the two finally meet and there’s a mix of caution and exciting buzzing in the air, I thought it was super relatable and made me laugh – I thought Maddy’s  narration in those scenes was adorable and Olly’s jokes and sly flirts gave me butterflies!

“I reach over and take his hand. “Thank you,” is all I can think to say. I want to tell him that it’s his fault that I’m out here. That love opens you up to the world. I was happy before I met him. But I am alive now, and those are not the same thing.”

tumblr_oldlzejNaR1qbmp7lo2_250

However, the one thing in the plot that really bothered me was the unfortunate bane of a ton of YA novels…the whole ‘instant love’ thing. Maddy’s entire perspective changes the minute she lays eyes on Olly and I wonder how realistic that is. I understand wanting more but at the same time, to risk everything with someone she’s known for such a short amount of time, seemed a little unrealistic to me. I definitely prefer when stories build the romance and in this case, even though it was enjoyable to read, it still felt like it happened a little to quick for me.

“He tastes like salted caramel and sunshine. Or what I think salted caramel and sunshine taste like. He tastes like nothing I’ve ever experience, like hope and possibility and the future.”

Without giving too many spoilers, I did enjoy the last 100 pages of the book where Maddy runs away with Olly to find herself. However, she was also a little needlessly selfish and lied to Olly which angered me. I felt like no matter what, Maddy could tell him anything so it kinda made me frustrated when she lied to him – the guy was clearly head over heels for her and would listen to anything. Despite a few faults, the plot twist is really well done and though the story is kinda cliche, it didn’t make it any less enjoyable to read!

Characters

tumblr_oldlzejNaR1qbmp7lo6_250

“I press a number. I can only hope that the sound is too unexpected and my mom’s room too far away from the door for her to hear it. The door unseals with a sigh. I’m outside. The world is too quiet.”

Maddy is a curious, intelligent and funny young girl who I felt really sad for given her situation. I too found myself rooting for her to find herself beyond the world she grew up in – as a young person, I really relate to that struggle. Even though I felt her to be a little selfish and reckless at times, her narration made me laugh or my heart skip at times. She’s a reader and someone who loves to learn which I loved!

Olly started out by seeming mysterious and I wanted to instantly know more about him from the start. I feel like we could have had more development on his family and life than just hints and the basics…but the scenes where Olly became vulnerable like on his porch with his family really moved me. I loved that he did parkour because I’m really into that as a runner and thought it was adorable when he was trying to teach Maddy how to do a headstand.

What I Hope For in The Movie

tumblr_olets4Anm91ua5higo1_1280.jpg

Originally, I was going to mesh the book and movie review together like I did for Outlander but from the trailer, it seems like the movie will play out a little differently and that’s why I wanted to make two separate reviews! I’m desperately hoping that we get a little more character development in the movie between all characters and even more with Maddy. Though we know her dislikes, likes, fears and routine, there just isn’t a whole lot of scenes where she isn’t seeing Olly or speaking to him. Some extended looks at Maddy being her own person and doing her own thing would be seriously appreciated! Check out the really exciting trailer here – I can’t wait to see it next week!

Rating – 3.5/5!

I think this rating would have been a lot higher if I was a bit younger and maybe still in high school. I love a short, sweet romance as much as the next girl but because the romance felt so rushed, it kind of made me less invested in the story at some points. It felt very romeo-and-juliet; reckless and cheesy. But, that doesn’t mean it wasn’t fun to read. I don’t think you have to care deeply about a books story to make it a good one but if the book had had a slower pace, I think I would have enjoyed it a little more. Maddy’s struggle to find herself and Olly’s humor and tenderness towards Maddy were some of my favorite parts of the book. Overall, it was a fun and short read but on the other hand, not one of my favorite reads either.

Have you read Everything, Everything? What did you think? Let me know in the comments down below your impressions and whether you plan on seeing the movie!

Thanks for reading my review and keep your eyes peeled for the upcoming movie review! I’m so excited to go see it 🙂 Until next time,

Mel

20 thoughts on “‘Everything, Everything’ by Nicola Yoon / A Book Review

  1. Great post! We read this last year for our book club and got to meet Nicola who is one of the sweetest ladies. I rated the book the same way you did. I loved the banter between Maddy and Ollie the most which made the book really fun and light-hearted given it’s more serious theme. The one thing that bothered me was how selfish her mother was. It’s somewhat understandable for Maddy to be a bit selfish because she has had such a sheltered life in regards to social interaction but her mother was blatantly selfish. I felt that the twist was predictable as well. The insta-love thing didn’t bother me too much just because Olly was the first guy she ever really “met” and he just got her. We went and saw the movie last week and they did a good job with the adaptation. I hope you will enjoy it!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Rate it 4😭😭😭 twas too Splendid you should also have pointed out how PTSD played out on her mom and made her do what she did overall i loved it. I didn’t think the love was instantaneous i think it’s because of her confinement that’s why she was voluptuous with love.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. First congrats on the 200 followers! 😀 I read the book in two days too! I’m glad you liked it, I did too, but I completely agree with you, the characters needed something more. Like it felt like Maddy just had her sickness and reading and I just wished the author would have put more detail into it. It kinda felt slapped together. I plan on seeing the movie soon, hopefully next weekend. The movie is half the reason I wanted to read the book, I saw the actor who plays Olly and I’m like *swoon* hahaha! 😛

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Really enjoyed reading this. I read Everything Everything at the end of 2016 and more or less had the same opinions as you. I feel like I really wanted to get on board with it but felt like it was quite rushed. Other than that it was definitely a pretty unique and gripping book. I’m looking forward to your review of the film as it isn’t out for ages in the UK so it’ll be great to hear what you think of it!x

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Congrats on 200 followers! I just started a blog myself and hoping to get there one day 🙂
    Thanks for sharing your review. This book is on my to-read list since I’ve heard good things about it. Hoping to read it with an open mind

    Cheers,
    Sophie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

