For You / A Pantoum

Helloo Wanderers!

I decided to do a quick post today featuring a poem I wrote this past Valentines for my boyfriend. I haven’t always been crazy about writing poetry but we’ve written a lot of poems for each other -it’s always just been one of our things :p

Anyway, we learnt this really fun form in my literature program this past semester and I really love experimenting with it! It’s called a pantoum and this ones called –

For You. 

I saw you with those eyes that night under the theaters spotlight

You watched me ardently, loving thoroughly

And I thought, ‘You don’t even know me’

To have someone who cared infinitely was startling

You watched me ardently, loving thoroughly

I found myself searching, for you longingly

To have someone who cares infinitely became comforting

Sing me one of your soothing tunes

Your voice I listened to fondly

Your honey words nurtured me

Sing me one of your soothing tunes

Pulling you close is intoxication, you’re my instant relief

Your honey words nurtured me

And your lips give the most delicate, heated kiss

Breathing you in makes me intoxicated, you’re my instant relief

You were my missing piece, always looking out for me

Your lips give the most passionate, heated kiss

And I think, ‘God, aren’t I lucky?’

You were my missing piece, always looking out for me

Since that night under the spotlight, with those eyes on me

~

Thanks so much for giving this short n sweet post a read! See you tomorrow for a new Soundtrack Saturday (finally)! Goodnight 🙂

-Mel

4 thoughts on “For You / A Pantoum

Leave a Reply

