Rip it or Ship it Book Tag!

Hey wanderers, how goes it!?

Today I was thinking about all the couples (otps?) that I love in books and it got me thinking of a book tag I watched on Youtube a while back! It was called the Ship it or Rip it Tag and before I knew it, I was scribbling down all my favorite couples on a sheet of paper. Granted, the idea of putting some of my favorite characters with another stranger from some entirely different book world was scary to even think about it – BUT it was also a lot of fun :p The original creator of the tag is Emmabooks, a really awesome booktuber – Check out her video here!

If you haven’t heard about this tag before, you basically write down different characters on a piece of paper,  crumple all the girl and guys names in separate bowls and then pick one from each bowl. If you think these two chosen characters would make a good couple if they were ever introduced then explain why! And of course, do the same if you think they’d totally hate each other.

So — here are the books that I chose!

Annd, the couples that I drew are…! 🙂

Clary (The Mortal Instruments Series) & Patch (Hush, Hush Series)

SHIP IT!! I mean…Clary was drawn to Jace for his charm and his angelic heritage when they first met – and Patch is definitely not lacking charm. Seeing how Patch is also tangled in the mess of angels, demons and otherworldly stuff, I think these two would actually have a good time together! I don’t know if it would last but Patch is definitely a similar character to Jace which is why I think they’d work – if Clary could forgive his dark past that is. The two would definitely be curious about each other!!

Simon (The Mortal Instruments Series) & Blaire (Rosemary Beach)

Rip it! I think Blaire would scare Simon if she walked up to his house in her beat up pickup truck with a gun haha! That was how Blaire first appeared to her better half Rush at least. She is a tough, independent woman who has trouble trusting/loving due to a really painful family past. Simon seems like a really tender guy who is a good listener so while he could maybe help her resolve her issues and be a good friend, I think her cagey personality would frustrate him!

Elena Michaels (The Otherworld series) & Perry (Under the Never Sky)

SHIP IT!! It is so hard for me to imagine these two without their other half but for the sake of the tag…I think that these two would actually be good together! Elena is a stubborn, intelligent werewolf and Perry is a skilled hunter and leader of his people with a really cool ability to feel other peoples emotions. I think these two strong characters would make a killer power couple!

Damon Salvatore (The Vampire Diaries) & Katniss Everdeen (The Hunger Games)

Rip it! Ohmygod, these two would just piss each other off! Both stubborn and complete opposites, Damon (a.k.a Mr.charm & charisma) would just want to flirt and Katniss would probably threaten to shoot him in the face with one of her arrows since she tends to be more of a loner.

Jaime Fraiser (Outlander) & Aria (Under The Never Sky)

SHIP IT! This was not easy to accept because I love Jaime with Claire so much but I think that these two would actually be really great together. Aria is sweet and intelligent, coming from a world of technology and science. I think Jaime enjoys a girl who isn’t just striking but can actually hold an interesting/smart conversation with him. Aria, like Claire, was hesitant to learn how to fight but ended up being very capable of thinking fast on their feet and taking care of themselves. I think that Jaime would be very smitten with a girl like Aria.

Jace (The Mortal Instruments Series) & Elena Gilbert (The Vampire Diaries)

 Rip it! Elena might be stunningly pretty and (in the books at least,) bestowed with angelic abilities, but I think that Jace would think Elena too needy or clingy. Elena fell quickly, deeply and thoroughly in love with Stefan but Jace is a bit more reserved. I think that he would be turned off with someone like Elena who literally lays her eyes on Stefan and declares she will make him hers.

Peeta Mellark (The Hunger Games) & Zoe Redbird (House of Night Series)

SHIP IT!! I think that these two wouldn’t actually be a bad couple! Though Peeta hates violence and Zoe is a powerful vampire, I think that once he saw she doesn’t intend to hurt people, but actually save them, he’d respect her. Zoe has dated both a human and a vampire but both times, her relationships seemed so young-adult despite her circumstances. Peeta would totally be attracted to Zoe’s mission to help all the fledglings and those in her universe who couldn’t save themselves!

Claire Beauchamp (Outlander) & Clay (The Otherworld Series)

Rip it! No way! Nuhuh! Clay is stubborn and reckless when faced with danger and sarcastic/indifferent towards people he doesn’t know. He’s not really a people person at all and Claire was drawn to Jaime because he was funny and protective of her even when they weren’t super close. Clay isn’t so good with people and probably wouldnt give her a second glance xD Plus, despite all that she’s been through, I think that small matter of Clay being a werewolf would freak her out a bit.

. . .

I tag…all of you! I figure this is quite an old tag and I don’t even know who’s done and who hasn’t so if you had fun reading this, give it a go because I can’t get enough of reading them!!

Well, that’s it for today’s post! It was so much fun to do because as I was writing down the names of characters, I really had no idea how this would pan out and who could end up with who! The results were really fun or (sometimes cringey,) to think about xD

Who are your favorite ships in books? Let me know in the comments down below!! 🙂

Until next time,

-Mel

 

9 thoughts on “Rip it or Ship it Book Tag!

  1. This was fun to read! I didn’t recognize a lot of the characters, but I’m with you on Katniss and Damon. Although I feel like it would be fun to watch them get in a fight XD
    I think I would be able to do this with more tv shows or movies than books though. I need to read more 😀

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

