June / A 100 Word Story

June. 

“When I saw you, it was like suddenly being pulled under water. The music and sounds of the crowd drowned out all at once. My heart was beating out of my chest, my veins were aflame.

It was mystifying, the way that you had changed and how you had stayed the same. You picked your way through the crowd to where I stood numbly, unable to decide what to do as you smiled. Cheesy Christmas lights were strung up everywhere and seemed to fleck golden specs into your mossy green eyes.  Meanwhile my feelings spun wildly like a broken compass.”

I wrote this 100 word challenge piece for the upcoming open-mic our literature program is holding. I’m not usually someone who revels in public speaking – in fact it terrifies me. But I had this strangely overwhelming urge to share this story anyway. I hope you enjoyed it! Let me know what you thought in the comments down below – would you ever try your hand at a 100 word story?

Until next time,

-Mel

 

9 thoughts on “June / A 100 Word Story

Leave a Reply

