Sunshine Blogger Award

Hey fellow wanderers!

Recently, I got nominated by Angela over at lifeofangela to do the Sunshine Blogger Award. Her questions are so fun and I can’t wait to get to them! Go check out her take on this award here and poke around her blog which is full of travel-goodness 🙂

So with that said – Let’s get into the award!

Rules:

  • Thank the person that nominated you and link back to their blog.
  • Answer the 11 questions your nominator has given you.
  • Nominate 11 other people and give them 11 new questions to answer.
  • List the rules and display the award

11 Questions I Have To Answer:

1.What’s the longest you’ve gone without sleep?

When I was in my grad year at High School (about five years ago), we had the option to go on the Florida trip which I was definitely down for the whole first day of travelling..until nighttime fell. Oh my god, it was terrible! Being in college and travelling downtown for school everyday, I feel like a pro at functioning on no sleep. But in High School, I was so spoiled with my eight hours! So when it started to get late on the coach bus, half way through our trip, pretty much everyone had managed to fall asleep except for me. I tried everything but it just wasn’t happening. So instead, I spent the whole night and morning writing on my laptop and that piece became my main manuscript to this day :p

2. What is the best thing that has happened to you this week?

Having a mini taste of Summer yesterday! Usually it takes until mid-may to get fully warm here so I got out my shorts and tees and had a nice walk to work. I might be a winter baby but I hate the cold!

3. What is one of your favorite words or phrases?

Art_is_the_Weapon

Shoot, this is so hard! I love languages so picking just one is really difficult. I love the phrase ‘Art is the weapon’ from an old My Chemical Romance album/concept where they say in a poem-like thing that art is the weapon to fight back or stand up for your beliefs as well as to be yourself. I’ve thought more than once about getting this tattooed on the back of my shoulder and probably will soon because there’s no better way to describe what art means to me.

4. What did you have for lunch yesterday?

I had a sandwich from work haha! I work at a Dagwoods (think healthy-er Subways).

5. What weird food combinations do you like?

This is a hard one too because I love and will try almost anything! I’m not sure if this is considered weird, but I love hot peppers on my pizza.

6. What was/is your favorite subject in school?

It’s always been English and gym! I love writing/reading and being creative and then stretching out and moving around when it was time for gym class. In high school I was in Enriched English and now I’m about to get my Literature degree in college 🙂 I’ve always joined sports teams in school, particularly soccer and track, and was so disappointed to find out college only requires 3 gym classes. I wish I’d had the chance to take more!!

7. Do you prefer cats or dogs?

I’ve had cats all of my life save for a very old dog when I was a toddler, and I adore my anti-social fluff balls but I’m planning to adopt a dog in a few years from a shelter. I really love Spaniels, labs and Beagles :3 My boyfriend and I always play-argue about the fact that he wants a giant dog while I want a medium one…not one that’s too chatty and still loves to be out and about..but not so big that it’ll run me over. But he thinks being run over is the best part! Ps..those aren’t my dogs obviously but I totally wish they were! How freaking adorable are they!?

8. Do you have any siblings?

Nope! I’m an only child. However, I’ve always wished that I had an older or twin brother. It was nice being an only child sometimes but growing up in a house of three adults has their lonely moments. I would have loved someone to give me advice and show me cool music or stand up for me whenever I needed it.

9. Who was the last person that you called or texted?

My boyfriend, about how we need to binge watch Outlander ASAAP!

10. Who is the most famous person you have met?

I use to write for a Montreal magazine called The Vocalist Magazine. I was there for 3 years and I spent it interviewing musicians, bands, stylists, managers and vocal coaches either in person or over the phone/skype. The two biggest people I ever interviewed were Francesco Yates, a musician from Toronto who blends 80’s funk with pop and the late Christina Grimmie, who was best known for her music on Youtube and The Voice. Both were amazing to speak to and so inspiring considering how their age. It was an honor to speak to Christina and I wish her life hadn’t been cut so short. She had a lot more to give and what happened is such a tragedy. If I could interview anyone else though, I wish I could anyone else though, it would be BTS!

11. What is something you’ve never done but would like to try?

tumblr_no5eenJ2Wc1sknukgo1_1280.jpg
Stunning photo from localsxonlyx on Tumblr!

really want to learn how to surf or wake board! I grew up watching this show on YTV about teens living in a cottage village or something like that and one of the male characters was an up and coming wake boarder. The show wasn’t super popular but he totally inspired me and ever since I’ve wanted to take a stab at the sport! I’m terrified of Ocean but I’d overcome it if it meant I got lessons! 🙂

Here are the 11 people I nominate:

  1. Think happy thoughts
  2. Oliviachanel
  3. Brush and needle
  4. Maxxes booktopia
  5. Sitbackandjustlive
  6. Love leigh
  7. Life of a teenage ranter
  8. Panic at the bookstore
  9. toomuchofabooknerd
  10. Paint and butterflies books
  11. Grace Hickson

Don’t feel pressured to do the tag and anyone who thinks this looks fun, go for it! I’d love to read it 😀

My 11 questions for you!:

  1. Do you prefer to cook or order take out?
  2. Where is your favorite place to shop?
  3. What is something that you’ve never done but would like to try?
  4. What do you do for fun?
  5. If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you travel to?
  6. If you could own any pet, what would it be?
  7. Are you an indoor or outdoor person?
  8. What is the worst movie that you’ve seen?
  9. If you could choose any era to live in, what would it be?
  10. What was the last book you read?
  11. What is your favorite song at the moment?

So there’s the Sunshine Blogger Award! Hope you liked my answers and you have a good rest of the week! ‘Til next time!

-Mel

 

7 thoughts on “Sunshine Blogger Award

Leave a Reply

