Beauty & The Beast Book Tag

Helloo! Hows it going?

After discovering this adorable book tag over on Book Snacks and being suggested to do it by Analee, I couldn’t help but give this tag a go immediately! I’m seriously so excited for the movie and can’t wait to finally see it now that it’s out! Just by watching the trailers, I know Emma Watson is going to do such a great job at the playing the level-headed, book-smart and tender Belle.

Let’s get into it! 🙂

Rules:

  • Thank the person who tagged you.
  • Mention the creator; Kirsty at Kirsty and the Cat Read.
  • Match a book to each of the songs/characters below.
  • Tag as many people as you like.

“Tale As Old As Time” – A popular theme, trope or setting you will never get bored of reading.

(Unwind by Neil Shusterman and The Forest Of Hands And Teeth by Carrie Ryan)

Soo..I’m kind of obsessed with dystopian books! Maybe I’m morbid, maybe I’m just craving to get lost in a world that’s unlike our own. Most of the books on my shelf are about some sort of apocalypse or alternate universe where magic and fantasy exists. It’s hard to pick just a few..but here are some of my favorite dystopian worlds!

Belle – A book you brought for its beautiful cover that’s just as beautiful inside too.

9780061726804

(Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver)

I bought Before I Fall in the seventh grade mainly because I thought the cover was gorgeous. At the time, I had no idea really what the book was about or what kind of lessons I would learn from reading it. Definitely not a disappointing buy!

Beast – A book you didn’t expect much from but pleasantly surprised you.

41gxm7fz1jL._SX306_BO1,204,203,200_

(Breathless by Lurlene Mcdaniel)

In high school, I loved reading anything written by Lurlene Mcdaniel. Yes, her books tend to be sad (I seriously think she could give John Green a run for his money – don’t kill me!) and yes they usually made me cry…but that’s only because her stories were so beautiful. When I picked up ‘Breathless’, it just seemed like this flimsy, thin thing that didn’t have a lot of substance. But since it was her new release, I thought I’d just give it a read anyways. Thank god I did! Breathless has become one of my favorite books I’ve ever read for various reasons including vivid characters and a hard to talk about topic that she did a wonderful job of shedding light on.

Gaston – A book everyone loves that you don’t.

Fallen_cover

(Fallen by Lauren Kate)

Okay, I don’t know if everyone is actually crazy about this book right now but I swear it was popular at some point because I remember picking book 1 up to see what the hype was all about. Sadly, I gotta say, Fallen kind of disappointed me. I adore anything fallen angel related and even though the book started off strong for me, it kinda spiraled down for me as the ending came to a close..

Lefou – A loyal sidekick you can’t help but love more than their counterpart.

Under_the_never_sky_trilogy

(Under The Never Sky by Veronica Rossi)

Oh. This is such an easy pick for me!! My favorite sidekick would have to be Roar, from Under The Never Sky. His loyalty for Perry, friendship with Aria, love for Liv and endless wit drew me into him as a character from the first time he was introduced at the start of the series and he just developed further as the books went on. Plus, he’s got a pretty cool ability being an Aud and all.

Mrs Potts, Chip, Lumière & Cogsworth – A book that helped you through a difficult time or that taught you something valuable

nob

(North Of Beautiful by Justina Chen)

This is kind of a lesser known book I think but it was a read that I picked up on a total whim. At the time, I was going through high school, the period where most people are stressing and question everything about themselves from their future to their looks. Reading North Of Beautiful, a book about a young girl who struggles with having a port-wine stain and meets a boy who is use to looking at life with a more ‘glass-half-full’ perspective. Slowly, he teaches her to do the same through their budding friendship/romance, travel and geo-caching. This book definitely had a hand in teaching me to love yourself and stick with those who love you too.

“Something There” – A book or a series that you weren’t into at first but picked up towards the end

City_of_Bones

(City of Bones by Casandra Clare)

I was kind of unsure with how I felt when I first read City Of Bones but somewhere in between the movie and tv show and a ton of people telling me I had to give it a second chance…I bought the second book. And I’m seriously so happy I did! Yes, it took me a bit to come around but I became a fan of Cassandra Clare’s series!

“Be Our Guest” – A fictional character you’d love to have over for dinner

Outlander-blue-cover-198x300

(Outlander by Diana Gabaldon)

This was a really hard choice! Can I just line up all my favorite books and book dinner with all of my favorite characters?? If I had to pick though, it would probably be Claire Beauchamp and Jamie Fraiser from the Outlander series. Claire’s character is so smart and witty and strong-willed. Though I’m not really into time-period books or historical fiction, I decided to give it a try because the reviews for it were awesome and I had to see if it really lived up to all of that. Jaime and Claire have had so many adventures and trials, dinner with these two would be the most entertaining and coolest thing I would ever get to sit through!

So there’s my take on the Beauty & The Beast Tag! Are you excited for the movie or a fan of the original Disney version? If you liked this tag, then I tag you to do it next! Leave me the link so I can check yours out because I’d love give it a read 🙂 Don’t forget to follow to be notified when there are new posts. I post every Monday and Wednesday and am working on picking a third day as well!

Well, that’s all for now – Have a good night/day!

Mel

5 thoughts on “Beauty & The Beast Book Tag

  1. YAY I’m so glad you did this tag!! ❤ ❤ Beauty and the Beast is the best and the movie is so so great, I think you'll love it when you see it. (Emma Watson was the perfect Belle!!) And I am SO happy to hear that giving the Mortal Instruments series a second chance changed your mind about her books! I love Cassandra Clare's books so much ahah. Loved your answers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

